Pear and Vanilla Jam

The other preserving I did with my mothers pears was a lovely pear and vanilla jam. I was a bit dubious about this at first, but having tried it the other day, it is gorgeous.

As an aside to this, I am really impressed with my phone. I take pics with it, then upload them directly to a Picasa album. When i view the pics in Picasa, online, at the right hand side is a little google map, showing me where the pic was taken. I’m impressed that when I upload a pic, it uploads that info as well!

Pear and Vanilla jam

1kg pears, peeled cored and cut into chunky slices

juice of 2 lemons

750g sugar

1 vanilla pod

Put the pears in the jam pan, with the lemon juice, sugar and 200ml water.

Slice the vanilla pod in half lengthways and add to the pan.

Leave all this overnight.

The following day, stir over a low heat until the sugar has dissolved, then turn up the heat and boil rapidly until the pears are translucent, and it reaches setting point.

Remove the vanilla pod, leave to settle for 10 mins, the pour into sterilised jars.

I used half normal sugar and half preserving sugar.

Published in: on October 19, 2009 at 2:23 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://raspberrygin.wordpress.com/2009/10/19/pear-and-vanilla-jam/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

